Still growing.New universities and courses are added most weekdays (not weekends), each checked against the university's own page before it goes live — worth checking back. Sources last read 1 Oct 2026. How we verify →

StudyPath
QS #=474La Plata, Argentina· QS World University Rankings 2027

Universidad Nacional de La Plata

Universidad Nacional de La Plata, in La Plata, Argentina, has 16 undergraduate courses listed on StudyPath. None of them charges tuition: every course here is published at zero for international students. UNLP publishes its own accommodation prices, from ARS 0 per year. Every figure above was read from UNLP's own published pages and last checked on 19 September 2026.

Courses
16
Fees verified
16 / 16
Applies everywhere on the site, on this device — change it any time.
Not set — every fee below is the international rate. Home and EU/EEA rates are often far lower.

courses

16 courses

Licenciatura · 5 years · Computer Science

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

UNLP publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Confirmed tuition-free, and stated by UNLP on the page it writes specifically for foreign applicants: "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado" - public, free and without entry quotas, across its grado and pregrado degrees. The page prices nothing at all: the only requirements it sets a foreign applicant are a student visa (VISA DE ESTUDIANTE, applied for through the Argentine foreign ministry after conditional enrolment), an in-person handover of paper documents at the chosen faculty, and, for anyone whose first language is not Spanish, a CELU or UNLP CertEA Spanish certificate at a level each academic unit sets for itself. Two limits worth knowing: enrolment for 2026 ran 10 November to 12 December and an applicant may register for only one degree per enrolment round. This records tuition only - books, materials, living costs and any faculty student-centre levy are outside what the page speaks to.

Show the fee on the university's site

Argentina's Higher Education Law (Ley 24.521) reserves free undergraduate tuition at state universities for Argentine citizens and for foreigners who hold permanent residency in the country -- a foreign student without permanent residency has never been automatically covered by that guarantee, and the law leaves individual institutions free to charge such students. UNLP's own catalog page for Licenciatura en Informática does not address tuition or fees for international students at all, but the university's central page for foreign applicants ("Información para aspirantes extranjeros") states in general terms that "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos" -- though that is general institutional framing addressed to all foreign applicants broadly, not a specific commitment that non-resident students are exempt from fees, so it does not itself resolve the question below. Whether Universidad Nacional de La Plata actually charges non-resident international undergraduates, and how much, is not stated on any official unlp.edu.ar page found. This is a live, actively-discussed question as of September 2026 -- the national government has been pushing universities to exercise this existing legal right to charge non-resident foreigners -- but StudyPath only records what an official source actually states, so no tuition figure (free or paid) is recorded here.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Licenciatura · 5 years · Computer Science

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

UNLP publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Confirmed tuition-free, and stated by UNLP on the page it writes specifically for foreign applicants: "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado" - public, free and without entry quotas, across its grado and pregrado degrees. The page prices nothing at all: the only requirements it sets a foreign applicant are a student visa (VISA DE ESTUDIANTE, applied for through the Argentine foreign ministry after conditional enrolment), an in-person handover of paper documents at the chosen faculty, and, for anyone whose first language is not Spanish, a CELU or UNLP CertEA Spanish certificate at a level each academic unit sets for itself. Two limits worth knowing: enrolment for 2026 ran 10 November to 12 December and an applicant may register for only one degree per enrolment round. This records tuition only - books, materials, living costs and any faculty student-centre levy are outside what the page speaks to.

Show the fee on the university's site

Argentina's Higher Education Law (Ley 24.521) reserves free undergraduate tuition at state universities for Argentine citizens and for foreigners who hold permanent residency in the country -- a foreign student without permanent residency has never been automatically covered by that guarantee, and the law leaves individual institutions free to charge such students. UNLP's own catalog page for Licenciatura en Sistemas does not address tuition or fees for international students at all, but the university's central page for foreign applicants ("Información para aspirantes extranjeros") states in general terms that "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos" -- though that is general institutional framing addressed to all foreign applicants broadly, not a specific commitment that non-resident students are exempt from fees, so it does not itself resolve the question below. Whether Universidad Nacional de La Plata actually charges non-resident international undergraduates, and how much, is not stated on any official unlp.edu.ar page found. This is a live, actively-discussed question as of September 2026 -- the national government has been pushing universities to exercise this existing legal right to charge non-resident foreigners -- but StudyPath only records what an official source actually states, so no tuition figure (free or paid) is recorded here.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Ingeniería · 5 years · Computer Science

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

UNLP publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Confirmed tuition-free, and stated by UNLP on the page it writes specifically for foreign applicants: "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado" - public, free and without entry quotas, across its grado and pregrado degrees. The page prices nothing at all: the only requirements it sets a foreign applicant are a student visa (VISA DE ESTUDIANTE, applied for through the Argentine foreign ministry after conditional enrolment), an in-person handover of paper documents at the chosen faculty, and, for anyone whose first language is not Spanish, a CELU or UNLP CertEA Spanish certificate at a level each academic unit sets for itself. Two limits worth knowing: enrolment for 2026 ran 10 November to 12 December and an applicant may register for only one degree per enrolment round. This records tuition only - books, materials, living costs and any faculty student-centre levy are outside what the page speaks to.

Show the fee on the university's site

Argentina's Higher Education Law (Ley 24.521) reserves free undergraduate tuition at state universities for Argentine citizens and for foreigners who hold permanent residency in the country -- a foreign student without permanent residency has never been automatically covered by that guarantee, and the law leaves individual institutions free to charge such students. UNLP's own catalog page for Ingeniería en Computación does not address tuition or fees for international students at all, but the university's central page for foreign applicants ("Información para aspirantes extranjeros") states in general terms that "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos" -- though that is general institutional framing addressed to all foreign applicants broadly, not a specific commitment that non-resident students are exempt from fees, so it does not itself resolve the question below. Whether Universidad Nacional de La Plata actually charges non-resident international undergraduates, and how much, is not stated on any official unlp.edu.ar page found. This is a live, actively-discussed question as of September 2026 -- the national government has been pushing universities to exercise this existing legal right to charge non-resident foreigners -- but StudyPath only records what an official source actually states, so no tuition figure (free or paid) is recorded here.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Ingeniería · 5 years · Aerospace Engineering

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

UNLP publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Confirmed tuition-free, and stated by UNLP on the page it writes specifically for foreign applicants: "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado" - public, free and without entry quotas, across its grado and pregrado degrees. The page prices nothing at all: the only requirements it sets a foreign applicant are a student visa (VISA DE ESTUDIANTE, applied for through the Argentine foreign ministry after conditional enrolment), an in-person handover of paper documents at the chosen faculty, and, for anyone whose first language is not Spanish, a CELU or UNLP CertEA Spanish certificate at a level each academic unit sets for itself. Two limits worth knowing: enrolment for 2026 ran 10 November to 12 December and an applicant may register for only one degree per enrolment round. This records tuition only - books, materials, living costs and any faculty student-centre levy are outside what the page speaks to.

Show the fee on the university's site

Argentina's Higher Education Law (Ley 24.521) reserves free undergraduate tuition at state universities for Argentine citizens and for foreigners who hold permanent residency in the country -- a foreign student without permanent residency has never been automatically covered by that guarantee, and the law leaves individual institutions free to charge such students. UNLP's own catalog page for Ingeniería Aeroespacial does not address tuition or fees for international students at all, but the university's central page for foreign applicants ("Información para aspirantes extranjeros") states in general terms that "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos" -- though that is general institutional framing addressed to all foreign applicants broadly, not a specific commitment that non-resident students are exempt from fees, so it does not itself resolve the question below. Whether Universidad Nacional de La Plata actually charges non-resident international undergraduates, and how much, is not stated on any official unlp.edu.ar page found. This is a live, actively-discussed question as of September 2026 -- the national government has been pushing universities to exercise this existing legal right to charge non-resident foreigners -- but StudyPath only records what an official source actually states, so no tuition figure (free or paid) is recorded here.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Ingeniería Civil

Ingeniería · 5 years · Civil Engineering

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

UNLP publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Confirmed tuition-free, and stated by UNLP on the page it writes specifically for foreign applicants: "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado" - public, free and without entry quotas, across its grado and pregrado degrees. The page prices nothing at all: the only requirements it sets a foreign applicant are a student visa (VISA DE ESTUDIANTE, applied for through the Argentine foreign ministry after conditional enrolment), an in-person handover of paper documents at the chosen faculty, and, for anyone whose first language is not Spanish, a CELU or UNLP CertEA Spanish certificate at a level each academic unit sets for itself. Two limits worth knowing: enrolment for 2026 ran 10 November to 12 December and an applicant may register for only one degree per enrolment round. This records tuition only - books, materials, living costs and any faculty student-centre levy are outside what the page speaks to.

Show the fee on the university's site

Argentina's Higher Education Law (Ley 24.521) reserves free undergraduate tuition at state universities for Argentine citizens and for foreigners who hold permanent residency in the country -- a foreign student without permanent residency has never been automatically covered by that guarantee, and the law leaves individual institutions free to charge such students. UNLP's own catalog page for Ingeniería Civil does not address tuition or fees for international students at all, but the university's central page for foreign applicants ("Información para aspirantes extranjeros") states in general terms that "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos" -- though that is general institutional framing addressed to all foreign applicants broadly, not a specific commitment that non-resident students are exempt from fees, so it does not itself resolve the question below. Whether Universidad Nacional de La Plata actually charges non-resident international undergraduates, and how much, is not stated on any official unlp.edu.ar page found. This is a live, actively-discussed question as of September 2026 -- the national government has been pushing universities to exercise this existing legal right to charge non-resident foreigners -- but StudyPath only records what an official source actually states, so no tuition figure (free or paid) is recorded here.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

Ingeniería · 5 years · Electrical & Electronic Engineering

International tuition

Confirmed tuition-free

Published, undated

Same rate across the institution · All students — no separate international rate

UNLP publishes this figure without stating which year it applies to, so it may already be out of date. Treat it as a starting point and check the course page for the current rate. Flag it below if you know it has changed.

Confirmed tuition-free, and stated by UNLP on the page it writes specifically for foreign applicants: "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado" - public, free and without entry quotas, across its grado and pregrado degrees. The page prices nothing at all: the only requirements it sets a foreign applicant are a student visa (VISA DE ESTUDIANTE, applied for through the Argentine foreign ministry after conditional enrolment), an in-person handover of paper documents at the chosen faculty, and, for anyone whose first language is not Spanish, a CELU or UNLP CertEA Spanish certificate at a level each academic unit sets for itself. Two limits worth knowing: enrolment for 2026 ran 10 November to 12 December and an applicant may register for only one degree per enrolment round. This records tuition only - books, materials, living costs and any faculty student-centre levy are outside what the page speaks to.

Show the fee on the university's site

Argentina's Higher Education Law (Ley 24.521) reserves free undergraduate tuition at state universities for Argentine citizens and for foreigners who hold permanent residency in the country -- a foreign student without permanent residency has never been automatically covered by that guarantee, and the law leaves individual institutions free to charge such students. UNLP's own catalog page for Ingeniería Electrónica does not address tuition or fees for international students at all, but the university's central page for foreign applicants ("Información para aspirantes extranjeros") states in general terms that "La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos" -- though that is general institutional framing addressed to all foreign applicants broadly, not a specific commitment that non-resident students are exempt from fees, so it does not itself resolve the question below. Whether Universidad Nacional de La Plata actually charges non-resident international undergraduates, and how much, is not stated on any official unlp.edu.ar page found. This is a live, actively-discussed question as of September 2026 -- the national government has been pushing universities to exercise this existing legal right to charge non-resident foreigners -- but StudyPath only records what an official source actually states, so no tuition figure (free or paid) is recorded here.

Show the source
Intake
Not verified
Application deadline
Not verified

What you'll study

Not yet added.

How UNLP compares

Against the other universities in Argentina on StudyPath, using each one's verified international fees and its own published housing prices. Universities are only compared with others charging in the same currency (and, for housing, for the same period), so no figure here has been converted. A ~ marks a year worked out from a per-term or whole-course fee.

UNLP charges international students no tuition for Ingeniería Aeroespacial, its lowest-fee undergraduate course. Of the 11 other universities in Argentina we list with undergraduate fees in ARS, 1 charges more at their lowest, 10 charge the same. Their lowest undergraduate fees run from nothing (UBA) to ~ARS 5,850,276 (UADE).

By subject
SubjectLowest fee hereAgainst other universities in ArgentinaTheir lowest fees
Computer Scienceundergraduateno tuitionIngeniería en Computación1 of 11 charge moreFree to ~ARS 6,518,880
Economicsundergraduateno tuitionLicenciatura en Economía1 of 9 charge moreFree to ~ARS 6,125,184
Electrical & Electronic Engineeringundergraduateno tuitionIngeniería Electrónica1 of 9 charge moreFree to ~ARS 6,497,160
Chemical Engineeringundergraduateno tuitionIngeniería Química1 of 8 charge moreFree to ~ARS 7,060,116
Physicsundergraduateno tuitionLicenciatura en FísicaSame as all 8All free
Mechanical Engineeringundergraduateno tuitionIngeniería Mecánica1 of 7 charge moreFree to ~ARS 6,497,160

Subjects taught at UNLP

Each one opens every course in that subject, at every university we hold, with the same verified fees.

Where these figures come from

2 sentences from UNLP's own site each back several figures above. Each is quoted once here; every course that uses one still opens it and links to its own source page.

  1. Used for international fee on 16 courses

    “Información para aspirantes extranjeros Información para aspirantes extranjeros La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado que pueden conocer en este link https://unlp.edu.ar/ingreso/”
    Información para aspirantes extranjeros » UNLPunlp.edu.arread 19 Sept 2026
    Open the official page ↗
  2. Used for cost note on 16 courses

    “La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es una institución pública, gratuita y sin cupos que cuenta con 17 Facultades y más de 165 titulaciones de grado y pregrado”
    Información para aspirantes extranjeros — Universidad Nacional de La Plataunlp.edu.arread 5 Sept 2026
    Open the official page ↗

More about UNLP

About & contact

La Plata, Argentina· view on Google Maps ↗unlp.edu.ar ↗

Find nearby

These open a map search near La Plata. StudyPath isn't listing or vouching for specific places — what the university itself publishes about on-campus facilities appears under On-campus amenities, cited like everything else here.

No admissions email, phone number, or address verified for this university yet. Not yet collected, not necessarily unavailable.

Accommodation

ARS 0per year

UNLP Albergue Universitario (University Hostel Scholarship) — free accommodation for students in vulnerable economic/social situations who are not La Plata residents

This is a limited-place needs-based scholarship (over 190 students housed), not general on-campus housing available to all students.

Published by the university itself, not a live listings price. Actual cost depends on room type, availability and when you apply.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 4 Sept 2026
“La Universidad Nacional de La Plata es la única Casa de Estudios del país que ofrece a sus estudiantes alojamiento en forma gratuita, garantizando la igualdad de oportunidades en el acceso, progreso y egreso de los estudios de grado.”
Albergue Universitario. Tu lugar en la UNLP » UNLPunlp.edu.ar
Open the official page ↗

After you graduate

Rules read 19 Aug 2026. Check the current rules, this may be out of date

What Argentina's own immigration authority currently publishes. Not a ranking, not a guarantee, and not the same as what any agent or forum will tell you. Whether someone actually obtains residence depends on occupation, points, funds and policy that can change between application and graduation.

Route to permanent residence

Argentina's National Directorate of Migrations (DNM, under the Ministry of Security), via the Argentina.gob.ar portal, describes three admission categories for migrants under Law 25.871 (the Migration Law): Transitory Residence (short-term, for specific activities under Article 24, granted for up to 1 year, does not enable a national ID/DNI); Temporary Residence (medium-term, under one of the migratory subcategories in Article 23 — the category an international student's residence falls under — granted for up to 3 years depending on the specific ground, and enabling a temporary DNI); and Permanent Residence (no expiry date, under Article 22, enabling a permanent DNI). A foreign student enters and remains on a Temporary Residence permit for the duration of their studies, renewed as needed; StudyPath found no DNM page describing a separate, defined years-of-residence threshold for converting a study-based Temporary Residence into Permanent Residence specifically (as distinct from the citizenship route below, which runs on its own residence-length requirement independent of holding Permanent Residence status).

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“Residencias Temporarias: se trata de residencias de mediano plazo sustentadas en alguna de las subcategorías migratorias previstas en el artículo 23 de la Ley 25.871. De acuerdo con el criterio de residencia solicitado, se otorgan por un plazo de hasta tres (3) años. Habilitan la obtención de DNI temporario.”
Residencias - Dirección Nacional de Migraciones, Ministerio de Seguridad Nacional, Argentina.gob.arargentina.gob.ar
Open the official page ↗

Route to citizenship

Argentine citizenship by naturalisation is governed by Ley 346 ('Ley de Ciudadanía', 1869, as amended most recently by Decreto N° 366/2025), published by InfoLEG, the Ministry of Economy's official legislative-text repository. Article 2, item 1, sets out the ordinary route directly: a foreign national over 18 who proves continuous, legal residence in Argentina for the 2 years immediately before applying, and who declares their wish to become a citizen before the National Directorate of Migrations, is a citizen by naturalisation — one of the shortest published ordinary residence requirements on StudyPath, and notably not expressed as requiring Permanent Residence status specifically, only continuous legal residence (which a study-based Temporary Residence, described under residencyRoute, itself counts toward). A second, separate route (Article 2, item 2, added by Decreto 366/2025) grants naturalisation regardless of length of residence to a foreign national who proves, before the DNM, having made a 'relevant investment' in the country, with the Ministry of Economy empowered to define what investments qualify. On dual nationality: the current consolidated text of Ley 346 does not itself state a requirement to renounce an applicant's original nationality. A 1977 amendment (Ley 21.610, enacted under military rule) had at one point listed 'carrying out acts inside or outside the Republic that amount to exercising one's citizenship of origin' as grounds for later cancelling a naturalised citizenship — but the articles that 1977 law modified (Articles 3, 4, 5 and 11 of Ley 346) are all now marked 'derogado' (repealed) in the current consolidated text following Decreto 366/2025, and StudyPath could not confirm from an official source whether that specific 1977 cancellation ground remains in force today. No claim is therefore made either way on dual nationality.

Show the source
✓ Word for wordRead 19 Aug 2026
“1°. Los extranjeros mayores de DIECIOCHO (18) años que acrediten haber residido en la REPÚBLICA ARGENTINA en forma continua y legal durante los DOS (2) años anteriores a la solicitud y manifiesten su voluntad de serlo ante la DIRECCIÓN NACIONAL DE MIGRACIONES organismo descentralizado actuante en el ámbito de la VICEJEFATURA DE GABINETE DEL INTERIOR de la JEFATURA DE GABINETE DE MINISTROS.”
Ley 346 - Ley de Ciudadanía (texto actualizado) - InfoLEG, Ministerio de Economía, Argentinaservicios.infoleg.gob.ar
Open the official page ↗

New entry added 19 August 2026. Two Argentine government domains accepted as a government source here: argentina.gob.ar (the national government portal, covering the DNM's own migraciones and servicio subsections) and infoleg.gob.ar (covering its servicios.infoleg.gob.ar subdomain, the Ministry of Economy's official legislative-text repository — Argentina's equivalent of the mevzuat.gov.tr/planalto.gov.br pattern used elsewhere on StudyPath). Collection note: servicios.infoleg.gob.ar serves pages as ISO-8859-1 (declared correctly in the Content-Type header this time, unlike the undeclared-charset Brazil case elsewhere on StudyPath) but automated fetching still decoded the page as UTF-8, corrupting accented Spanish characters; the page was re-downloaded with curl, converted with iconv (-f ISO-8859-1 -t UTF-8), stripped of HTML markup, and archived from a browser capture with correctly-decoded text — worth flagging since the mis-decoding happens even when the source page's own headers are correct. workDuringStudy and postStudyWork are left null: the DNM's dedicated 'Obtener una residencia temporaria como estudiante' service page describes only identity, criminal-record and enrolment documentation requirements, with no stated work entitlement or restriction, and StudyPath found no separate DNM page addressing work rights during study or a distinct post-study job-search permit; Ley 25.871 itself (Argentina's Migration Law) was not independently checked article-by-article for a general work-rights clause applicable to Temporary Residence holders, so this is recorded as an absence of found information, not a confirmed 'no'. inDemandOccupations is left null: no shortage-occupation list was found tied to this route. naturalisationStatus set to 'published-route': Ley 346 publishes a real, numbered 2-year ordinary residence route (among the fastest on StudyPath) plus a separate investment-based route — per the doc comment on ResidencyPathway.naturalisationStatus this field records only whether criteria are published, not how the underlying process is administered in practice (naturalisation is granted through a federal judge under a summary procedure per Ley 21.610's still-apparently-active Article 6 text, not through a simple administrative application). citizenshipTerms records the Article 2(1) ordinary route: 2 years of continuous legal residence, one of the shortest published general periods on StudyPath, and expressed as legal residence rather than permanent residence specifically — so study-based temporary residence counts toward it. dualCitizenshipAllowed is null because the current consolidated text of Ley 346 states no renunciation requirement and StudyPath could not confirm from an official source whether the 1977 cancellation ground described in citizenshipRoute survives.

Open the immigration authority's own page ↗

Student photos

Contributed by students and applicants. Not checked the way the campus photos above are, just real photos from people who've actually been here.

Loading…

What students say about UNLP

Opinions from students and applicants. Not checked against the university's own pages the way the fees and deadlines above are.

to write a review. Signing in with your university email marks you as a verified student here.

Loading reviews…